Everything and desktops.

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
johncz
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 2:18 pm

Everything and desktops.

Post by johncz »

I am sure if this is a bug or intended behavior. I am nor able to start Everything from any other desktop but first. It looks like intended behavior. I am using Desktops.exe from Sysinternals. I wrote many applications that allow only one instance to run using mutex but it does not prevent from starting another instance in any desktop.
The only way to run another instance of Everything is to select "New Search Window" from "File" menu, hence running multiple instances is possible.

Suggestions:
1. Enable running of the Everything in different Windows desktops.
2. Enable running additional instance of the Everything form the shortcut or direct command.
therube
Posts: 4977
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Everything and desktops.

Post by therube »

Have you tried any of the Everything command-line switches?
Perhaps -db and -config?
void
Developer
Posts: 16735
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Everything and desktops.

Post by void »

Multiple Windows
With multiple windows only one Everything.exe process is used.
The database and settings are shared between all search windows.

Everything only uses one window by default.
This can be overridden by using the command line option:

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -newwindow
It can also be overridden by opening a new window from File -> New Search Window or from right clicking the tray icon -> New Search Window.

You can make Everything open a new window by default by setting allow_multiple_windows to 1 in your Everything.ini:
  • Exit Everything
  • Open your %APPDATA%\Everything\Everything.ini
  • Change the following line:

    Code: Select all

    allow_multiple_windows=0
    to:

    Code: Select all

    allow_multiple_windows=1
  • Save changes and restart Everything.
You can override the open as new window default setting from the command line by using:

Code: Select all

Everything.exe -nonewwindow
-or-
By right clicking the tray icon -> Show Search Window.

Multiple Instances
Each Everything instance has its own database and settings.
By default the unnamed instance is used.
Everything uses the EVERYTHING_MUTEX mutex name.

You can create and specify your own custom instance with the -instance command line option or the instance_name ini setting.

For example, on one desktop you might use the unnamed instance and on the second desktop you might use the instance name "Desktop 2":

Code: Select all

Everything -instance "Desktop 2"
For more information, please see:
http://www.voidtools.com/support/everyt ... instances/

If you specify a custom instance name, Everything will use the mutex name:
EVERYTHING_MUTEX_<instance name>
where <instance name> is your custom instance name.

To always create a new instance when running Everything.exe (ignore all MUTEXes) see:
allow_multiple_instances ini setting.
Post Reply