Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer
Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer
I recently moved to XYplorer as a replacement for Windows Explorer (on my Win 7 32-bit PC). XYplorer has the ability to set itself as the "default Windows explorer", which I've done. So it pops up as expected when I open folders on the desktop etc.
However, when I "Open path" on an Everything return, the original Windows Explorer is called. So I guess this is hard-wired in(?).
--> If it is not too complicated, I'd appreciate having Everything call my explorer replacement, not the original.
By the way, I am very impressed with XYplorer.
Thanks for a great tool,
Arbie
However, when I "Open path" on an Everything return, the original Windows Explorer is called. So I guess this is hard-wired in(?).
--> If it is not too complicated, I'd appreciate having Everything call my explorer replacement, not the original.
By the way, I am very impressed with XYplorer.
Thanks for a great tool,
Arbie
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Hi Arbie,
I have exactly the same issue and posted a similar request here. Perhaps you can add your post to that thread as well.
Been using XYplorer for 3 years now and will never look back. These 2 programs, XYplorer and Everything, are absolutely indispensable to me now.
Jerry
I have exactly the same issue and posted a similar request here. Perhaps you can add your post to that thread as well.
Been using XYplorer for 3 years now and will never look back. These 2 programs, XYplorer and Everything, are absolutely indispensable to me now.
Jerry
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
$exec("the xyplorer path" "%1")
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Just adding to the reply. The entry to be changed/replaced is in the Open Path command line in the Tools>>Options>>General>>Context menuvsub wrote:$exec("the xyplorer path" "%1")
$exec("%SystemRoot%\explorer.exe" /select,"%1")
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
@nagan: Thanks very much. I'll try that.
@vsub: You spent 60 seconds showing off. You could have spent 90 seconds and actually helped me. No thanks.
@vsub: You spent 60 seconds showing off. You could have spent 90 seconds and actually helped me. No thanks.
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Yes, the solution is to add entries to the Tools | Options | Context Menu items. For example, for "Explore Path" enter:
$exec("C:\Program Files\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" %1)
assuming you have XYplorer installed in C:\Program Files\XYplorer
Works great - thanks. I just had no idea this customization option existed.
$exec("C:\Program Files\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" %1)
assuming you have XYplorer installed in C:\Program Files\XYplorer
Works great - thanks. I just had no idea this customization option existed.
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Well how do I know about it or how does nagan know about it...look at the options.You probably could've done it yourself if you looked first.Arbie wrote: Works great - thanks. I just had no idea this customization option existed.
It's a good thing to know what a program can do and what you can change...you may even find something else that want to be enabled,disable or changed
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Thanks for this. I didn't think to look in the context menu settings.
The following revised solution is better, IMO, because it's not dependent on the XYplorer path. With XYplorer set to the default file manager, Everything is already opening folders as desired, so this is just invoking that same working behavior for path.
Incidentally, for fellow XYplorer users, there's an alternative way of opening the path of a folder into XYplorer from Everything, and it just uses the folder or file from the Name column: Click and hold down with the right mouse on one folder or file and then drag it into the XYplorer file list pane, release the mouse button, and then, from the context menu that comes up, select Go To Dragged Item. XYplorer will take you to the selected folder or the selected file's folder. That's what I've been doing all the time up to now.
In any case, it's still better, IMO, to just double-click on the path in Everything, using the above binding.
The following revised solution is better, IMO, because it's not dependent on the XYplorer path. With XYplorer set to the default file manager, Everything is already opening folders as desired, so this is just invoking that same working behavior for path.
Code: Select all
$exec($parent("%1"))
In any case, it's still better, IMO, to just double-click on the path in Everything, using the above binding.
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
This isn't working for me. I have XYplorer installed in the default directory in 64-bit Windows 10 and have the following in Everything:
$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Yet when I hit "Explore Path," I get this error: Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86'. What am I formatting wrong?
$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Yet when I hit "Explore Path," I get this error: Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86'. What am I formatting wrong?
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Don't forget to escape ( and ):
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Thanks. But strangely, it still doesn't work even though the path in the error message is definitely correct:
Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe'.
Windows cannot find 'C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe'.
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Please try running Everything in debug mode.
What is displayed in the debug console after clicking Explorer Path in Everything?
What is displayed in the debug console after clicking Explorer Path in Everything?
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
You need to escape the parens in the filename/pathname.
And in this case, the '$' is used as the escape character (along with the paren).
from:
to:
And in this case, the '$' is used as the escape character (along with the paren).
from:
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
-
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:46 am
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
I get some message about how it failed to execute C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe. Error code 1223.void wrote:Please try running Everything in debug mode.
What is displayed in the debug console after clicking Explorer Path in Everything?
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
1223 (assuming it the same 1223) says its a "cancel" (whatever that might mean).
So something that could be interfering with the execution of XYplorer.exe?
So something that could be interfering with the execution of XYplorer.exe?
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
As a test, create a temporary directory, C:\TMP\DUMY
Copy the contents from the XYplorer directory into C:\TMP\DUMY.
(Actually the single file, XYplorer.exe, will suffice for testing.)
In Everything, change the Open Path to:
What happens with that?
Copy the contents from the XYplorer directory into C:\TMP\DUMY.
(Actually the single file, XYplorer.exe, will suffice for testing.)
In Everything, change the Open Path to:
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\TMP\DUMY\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explore
Error 1223:
Code: Select all
ERROR_CANCELLED
1223 The operation was canceled by the user.
Re: Make Everything use Windows 'default' (not orig) explorer
Was having trouble escaping the (x86), so all I did was drop a junction in "Program Files." Works fine.
EDIT: Hmm. Must have had a typo, then looked at this old thread. It works just fine, for me at least, to simply escape the parentheses in the path with "$" as recommended in documentation. Originally suggested dropping a junction, which is unnecessary. I left that up there just in case....
There's no problem with this:
***
This thread is rather old. Just want to add my two cents about Everything and XYplorer being my two most valuable tools; the developer of XY is exceedingly active putting in new features, and very responsive (sound familiar?) on his forum accepting ideas, etc.
Thank you again for "Everything." I'll keep dropping you a donation periodically - you certainly deserve it. Does one thing, absolutely beautifully, with no bloat and great flexibility.
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" "%1")
There's no problem with this:
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\XYplorer\XYplorer.exe" %1)
This thread is rather old. Just want to add my two cents about Everything and XYplorer being my two most valuable tools; the developer of XY is exceedingly active putting in new features, and very responsive (sound familiar?) on his forum accepting ideas, etc.
Thank you again for "Everything." I'll keep dropping you a donation periodically - you certainly deserve it. Does one thing, absolutely beautifully, with no bloat and great flexibility.