BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

Suppose I have to type three words in the Search Bar, separated by spaces.

When I type the first world, and if Everything finds matching files, sometimes (not always) the focus automatically switches to the Search Results panel. In such case, when I type a space at the end of the word, that space toggles the selection status of the item under focus.

In some cases, Everything just "eats" the SpaceBar stroke, and continues the next word in continuation with the first word.

This happens often, but not always.
NotNull
Posts: 5461
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by NotNull »

Can't reproduce here.
Maybe you press the cursor down key by accident? 'TAB' would also be an option, but seems less likely.
void
Developer
Posts: 16744
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by void »

Maybe an unintended keyboard shortcut for a command, filter or bookmark?

Please check with about:keys:
  • Copy and paste the following into your Everything search box:
    about:keys
  • Press ENTER in your Everything search box.
  • Check for any commands, filters or bookmarks using a simple keyboard shortcut such as letter X
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

I had not set any hotkeys except CTRL+SpaceBar (to launch Everything) and SHFT+CTRL+SpaceBar (to toggle Everything).
Even then I reviewed all Hotkeys, and didn't find any that I might be pressing by mistake.
In fact, while entering the search string, I never touch SHFT or CTRL.

But clearly there is some path dependency that triggers this error.
Not able to find that dependency!
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

I found a way to reproduce this bug consistently:

I launched Everything and just pressed SpaceBar, while taking care not to press any other key.
It straightaway toggles the selection of the item under the mouse pointer.
The space character is not entered in the Search Bar.

The precise description of the sequence is as follows:

I use details view, and my full row select option is turned off.

Before I launched Everything, the mouse pointer was on the lower right quarter of the screen. So when Everything got launched, the pointer is on the Path column, not on the Name column. So this position of mouse puts focus on the item, but does not select it.

The cursor blinks in the Search Bar. So if I enter any keystrokes, they should all go to the Search Bar.

But if I simply type a space as my first keystroke, it toggles the selection status of the focused item.

But after this moment, the typed characters continue to go to the Search Bar. Only the spaces don't go to the Search Bar: They again toggle the selection status of the item under mouse pointer. [BUG]

This is repeatable.

I know that most file names will not start with a space character. But this was the best way to reproduce the problem consistently, which I found during my experiments.

And typing space in the beginning of the search does not break any rule, AFAIK.
void
Developer
Posts: 16744
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by void »

Sounds like the search box is not getting focus correctly.

If you tab to the result list and back to the search box, does keyboard input go to the search box?
-This would confirm the search box is not getting input correctly. (vs the result list eating the space key)
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

Sorry for the late response!

I am now using the latest version (1351a) and the problem has disappeared. I do not know if this got resolved because of the update...

Thanks!
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

oops- I did not have the problem for a while, so I thought that it had got resolved. But now I have realized that the problem is still there, but it is not so consistent as before: It appears randomly. There is no pattern when it occurs.

I have folders pane open at left. So when I press TAB, the focus shifts in an endless cycle like this: Search field -> Folders pane -> Results pane.
So if I TAB to shift focus to the Search field, the text entered earlier gets highlighted. But if I press SpaceBar, the focus again jumps to the Results pane.

I have disabled full row selection, and my mouse pointer is over the Path column.
So when the problem appears, the focus shifts to the Results pane, and the item under the mouse pointer gets selected.

But I did some further experiments, and got the following results:

1. Everything does not allow me to enter a space in the SearchBar. All those keystrokes are stolen by the Search Results pane. But if I type any letter, they go to the SearchBar. Similarly, the LeftArrow, RightArrow and BkSp keys continue to work inside the SearchBar. This is weird: Only the space keystroke goes to the Search Results pane.

2. If the results are too few, the mouse pointer's position would be below that small list. In that case, the Search Bar accepts the SpaceBar normally.

3. If there are no results at all (e.g. If I enter some nonsensical string in the SearchBar), the SpaceBar works normally.

4. I deliberately positioned the mouse pointer inside the preview panel, which is at the right of the UI. This removes the focus highlight in the Search Results pane. But as soon as I enter a space in the SearchBar, the item that is in line with the pointer gets the focus, and I cannot enter a space in the SearchBar.

5. I intentionally placed the mouse pointer in such a way that in the search results, it would point to an item for which the disk was not connected to the laptop. The problem still occurs.

6. After the problem has occurred, if I click inside the SearchBar, the mouse pointer remains in the SearchBar area (instead of an arrow, it now appears as a cursor). In other words, I have forced the focus back to the SearchBar, at the cost of an extra click. The problem never occurs in this case. But then I should not need this extra click.
void
Developer
Posts: 16744
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by void »

Sounds like space is bound to Result List | Hot Item | Select.

What are your key bindings?
  • Copy and paste the following into your Everything search box:
    about:keys
  • Press ENTER in your Everything search box.
  • A window will show containing all your key bindings.


Are you using Single click open? (Tools -> Options -> Results -> Single click open)
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

My "Single click open" option is set to "System settings", and my system settings are set to "double-click".
(I do all my file management using FreeCommander, which has its own settings. I have activated "single click" mode there.)

The About:Keys window shows that the space key has the following bindings:

Result List | Select Focus Space (Result List)
Result List | Hot Item | Toggle Select Space (Global)

What is this second function? What does it do?
Don't these definitions overlap?
void
Developer
Posts: 16744
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by void »

Result List | Hot Item | Toggle Select Space (Global)
Please try removing this keybinding and see if the issue persists:
  • In Everything, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Keyboard tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show commands containing, search for:
    hot
  • Select Result List | Hot Item | Toggle Select.
  • Click Remove.
  • Click OK.
This command does not have a key binding by default.

This command will toggle the selection under the cursor.
Raindrops
Posts: 247
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2023 10:04 am

Re: BUG: If the first word entered in the Search Bar is found, everything jumps to Search Results panel

Post by Raindrops »

That solved the issue! Thanks a lot!
Post Reply