is it possible to pass multiple paths to the -explore command line parameter?

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

is it possible to pass multiple paths to the -explore command line parameter?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

I am trying to figure out how to pass multiple paths to
-explore
.

The following works, the status correctly shows
users
:

Code: Select all

everything -explore 'c:\users'
But trying to open multiple paths with powershell 7, only the first path is received. So the status bar instead of showing
users|temp
, it only shows
users
:

Code: Select all

everything  -explore ('c:\users', 'C:\temp\')
everything  -explore 'c:\users'`,'c:\temp'          #escape powershell's ',' with '`'
I tried to use the Powershell operator
--%
to disable its command line parsing but it did not make any difference.

Code: Select all

everything --% -explore 'c:\users','C:\temp\'
I also tried to use one of the example shown in the command line page but it did not work:

Code: Select all

everything --% -explore* [{"path":"c:\\temp"},{"path":"c:\\users"}]
1.5.0.1379a 1.5.0.1379a
/ win11

Thanks for any help.
therube
Posts: 4972
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: is it possible to pass multiple paths to the -explore command line parameter?

Post by therube »

Appears -explore won't take 2 separate paths to explore.
So something like this won't work:

Code: Select all

everything -instance 15 -explore c:\out\222 -new-tab -explore c:\out\1099 -new-tab

So two separate invocations of Everything.

Code: Select all

everything -instance 15 -explore c:\out\222 -new-tab  &&  everything -instance 15 -explore c:\out\1099 -new-tab
or

Code: Select all

everything -instance 15 -explore c:\out\222 -new-tab
everything -instance 15 -explore c:\out\1099 -new-tab
or
You could run in a FOR loop, passing the dirname(s).

Without a -new-tab or -new-window, one invocation will "overwrite" the other.


(I'm about to post a similar question, "efficiency".)


Now, if you could Group, but alas you can't.

Code: Select all

everything -instance 15 < -explore c:\out\222 -new-tab > < -explore c:\out\1099 -new-tab >
void
Developer
Posts: 16735
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: is it possible to pass multiple paths to the -explore command line parameter?

Post by void »

Currently, not possible.

I will look into adding support for semicolon delimited lists.

For example:

everything.exe -explore "c:\windows;C:\Program Files"

Thank you for the suggestion.
Ralf_Reddings
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2023 4:53 pm

Re: is it possible to pass multiple paths to the -explore command line parameter?

Post by Ralf_Reddings »

@therube
Thank you for the alternative, I would not mind to use a temporary solution until Everything adds a semicolon delimited lists but this solution is using multiple tabs. In any case, I will just use a single folder for now.

@void
Very glad to hear it, this would be perefect!
Post Reply